

Nunavut Employees Union Elects New Executive at 9th Triennial Convention

For Immediate Release: Iqaluit, November 9, 2023: Nunavut Employees Union (NEU) convention delegates have reelected Jason Rochon as President of the NEU. The convention also elected four Vice-Presidents to complete the new NEU Executive. They will serve until the next NEU convention in the fall of 2026.

The NEU's 9th Triennial Convention, held in Iqaluit November 6-8, brought together delegates representing NEU Locals from across Nunavut. The newly elected executive members are: Jason Rochon, Iqaluit (President), Amanda Arsenault, Rankin Inlet (1st VP); Jennifer Corcoran, Rankin Inlet (2nd VP); Gregory Nahaglulik; Gjoa Haven (3rd VP); Tristan Howell, Iqaluit (4th VP); Faith Mautaritnaaq, Baker Lake (Regional Vice-President (RVP) for Kivalliq North); Joadamee Amagoalik, Resolute (Qiqiktaaluk North RVP); Paul Puqiqnak, Gjoa Haven (Kitikmeot East RVP); and Tracey Curley, Iqaluit (Nunavut Capital Region RVP).

"I am happy that we will be able to continue the work we started at the last NEU convention," says Rochon. "We are proud of what we have accomplished over the past two years and look forward to continuing building a strong union with the new executive over the next three years."



(From left to right: Amanada Arsenault (1st VP); Jennifer Corcoran (2nd VP); Jason Rochon (President) Tristan Howell (4th VP); and Gregory Nahaglulik (3rd VP) say they look forward to building a stronger NEU across Nunavut. (photo courtesy NEU)

For media inquiries, contact: James Kaylor: Communications Officer - Nunavut Employees Union Phone: 867.979.4209 Email: james@neu.ca